Matariki

This week for inquiry we learned how to understand the meaning of matariki and to identify the stars of the matariki. For example : Matariki is a type of celebration.

The meaning of matariki is the Maori name for the cluster of stars also known as the pleiades it also are tiny eyes or eyes of god” and is celebrated in june when a small group of stars called Pleiades rises above the horizon, bringing the old year to a close and starting a new year.

First, we had to discuss in a group what matariki is and means. The meaning of matariki is the mario name for the cluster of stars also known as the pleiades it also are tiny eyes or eyes of god” and is celebrated in june when a small group of stars called Pleiades rises above the horizon, bringing the old year to a close and starting a new year.

Next, Miss Tele’a told us to make a copy of a google slide that talks about matariki and to do some activites on the google slide. We had to pick 2 or 3 actijvites to do. The options were to research the history of iwi and hapu who first settled near a river, lake or wetlands closet to you, find a calender of tides and explore ideal swimming and fishing times, design a contraption to collect rainwater, find out what contributes to air pollution, learn the best time to grow vegetables, find a recipe using fruits and berries, set personal or learnign goals, in Google Docs, write a memoir of a loved one OR remember loved ones we have lost (this could include pets), or to plan an event with loved ones.

Lastly, I picked “In Google Docs, write a memoir of a loved one OR remember loved ones we have lost (this could include pets)”. I wrote down memories about my nana. I said ” My favourite memory about my wonderful nana is that she used to look after me when I was little and play with each other. The sad part I’m gonna miss is her smile that she always has on her face and bathing me when I was born. I love the way she talks to me about stuff our family doesn’t know. My Nana always goes somewhere and I ask her “Nana can I come” and she said yes. She is the bravest, and kindest person in the world.”

I enjoyed doing this task. I did well at explanning what matariki is. I need to improve on adding more activites.

This my document about memories about my nana!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *